National Sea Grant Advisory Board Fall 2021 Meeting Final Agenda November 4-5, 2021 Virtual Meeting

Day 1: Thursday, November 4, 2021

Open to the public 12:00 - 4:45 pm eastern

40.00 40.05		
12:00 pm - 12:05pm	Welcome	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair
	Roll Call	Susan Holmes - Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the Board
	Call to Order; Approval of Agenda; Approval of March Minutes; Approval of July Minutes	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair
12:05 pm - 12:50 pm	National Sea Grant Office (NSGO) Update (Discussional)	Jonathan Pennock - NSGO Director
12:50 pm - 1:05 pm	Break	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair
1:05 pm - 2:00 pm	NOAA and NOAA Research Update (Discussional)	Craig McLean - Assistant Administrator of NOAA Research Dave Holst - Deputy Assistant Administrator for Programs and Administration (acting)
2:00 pm - 2:30 pm	Break	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair
2:30 - 4:30 pm	Part 1: NSGO Environmental Literacy and Workforce Development (ELWD) Efforts (Discussional)	 Part 1 Joshua Brown - NSGO Strategic Activities Maddie Kennedy - Student Opportunities Impacts Amanda Lawrence - NMFS SG Symposium
	Introduce Panel (Discussional)	Roseanne Fortner
	Part 2: Sea Grant Education: Current Strength, Future	Part 2 Brian Helmuth - Moderator

	Opportunities Panel (Discussional)	 Panelists: Joshua Brown, NSGO ELWD Lead Christos Michalopoulos, Deputy Director, NOAA Office of Education Linda Chilton, USC SG, SGEN Chair Susan White, NCSG Director Jeffrey Reuter, OHSG, Director (ret.)
4:30 pm	Public Comments	Susan Holmes - DFO
4:30 - 4:45 pm	Sea Grant Association (SGA) Update (Discussional)	Susan White - SGA President
4:45 PM	Adjourn	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair

Public Meeting recessed until 1:00pm eastern, Friday, November 5, 2021

Day 2: Friday, November 5, 2021

Open to the public 1:00 - 3:45 pm eastern

1:00 - 1:05 pm	Welcome Roll Call Call to Order; Agenda Review	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair Susan Holmes - DFO Brian Helmuth - Board Chair
1:05 - 1:35 pm	Resilience and Social Justice Subcommittee Update (Discussional)	Paulinus Chigbu - Board Member
1:35 - 1:45 pm	Resilience and Social Justice Subcommittee Chair Replacement (Decisional)	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair
1:45 - 2:00 pm	Break	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair
2:00 - 3:30 pm	DEIJ Panel (Discussional)	Elizabeth Rohring - Moderator • Jane Harrison, DEIJ Network representative and

		 Coastal Economics Specialist, North Carolina Sea Grant Davin Holen, Traditional and Local Knowledge Network representative and Coastal Communities Resilience Specialist, Alaska Sea Grant Stephanie Ichien, Research and Scholars Program Coordinator, Oregon Sea Grant Brooke Carney, NSGO DEIJ lead, and Director of Communications Linda Shi, Assistant Professor, Cornell University Department of City and Regional Planning
3:30 - 3:45 pm	Wrap Up	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair
3:45 PM	Adjourn	Brian Helmuth - Board Chair